Portrait

André Cis was born in 1984 into a hotel and restaurant family where he gained experience in the hospitality industry from a very young age. After completing elementary and secondary school in East-Tyrol, in 1998 André was given the opportunity to earn a degree at one of Europe’s leading tourism and gastronomy academies, the “Villa Blanka” institute in Innsbruck. During five years of specialized education André was introduced to all the possible varieties of gastronomy and hotel-business. He developed an affinity towards fine dining and wine, following his passion and gaining knowledge and experience in these fields of expertise. Supported and challenged by masters and mentors as well as driven by his ambitions, André successfully concluded his training and education in 2003, graduating as bachelor of commerce and Sommelier. Back home André passed an obligatory and character-forming year of civil service at the “Lebenshilfe Tirol” institution, supporting mentally handicapped people. He took over the family business in 2005 and successfully transformed it into a boutique hotel and restaurant*, focused on wine and fine dining. Encouraged by friends and colleagues, he began his freelance journalism and consultancy firm in 2011.

In 2014 André Cis became a member of the first ever, Austrian culinary think-tank Koch.Campus. A year later, together with some of Alto Adige’s finest chefs Chris Oberhammer and Markus Holzer as well as East-Tyrolean gastronomic doyen Josef Mühlmann he did found the internationally operating, non profit organisation Culinaria Tirolensis. The association published it’s first book “Culinarium Tyrolensis – La cucina delle Dolomiti” in 2018.

André lives with his family in Kartitsch. Since 2004 he has been working in an honorary capacity for the Tyrolean Sommelier Association. He worked as well for more than 10 years for the Junior Chamber International, chapter Austria .

In 2021 he successfully passed the exam as Certified Sake Sommelier with merit. 

 

* Due to family-related reasons, restaurant operations have been suspended in 2018.

Porträt

André Cis, Jahrgang 1984, wuchs in einer Hoteliers-Familie auf, was ihm von Kindesbeinen an Erfahrungen in Gastronomie und Hotellerie einbrachte. Nach Volks- und Hauptschule in Osttirol bekam André 1998 die Chance, seinen Ausbildungsweg an der Innsbrucker Tourismus-Kaderschmiede „Villa Blanka“ fortzusetzen. Im Laufe der dort verbrachten fünf Jahre lernte André die Vielfalt und Möglichkeiten der Gastronomie und Hotellerie kennen und entdeckte seine Affinität zur gehobenen Küche sowie Wein. Er folgte seiner Passion und vertiefte Wissen und Erfahrung in diesen Fachgebieten. Gefordert und gefördert durch Wegbegleiter und Mentoren sowie getrieben durch Ehrgeiz und Strebsamkeit schloss André seine Ausbildung zum diplomierten Tourismus-Kaufmann sowie Sommelier 2003 erfolgreich ab und kehrte in den elterlichen Betrieb zurück. Nach einem charakterbildenden Zivildienstjahr bei der „Lebenshilfe Tirol“ übernahm er 2005 als einer der jüngsten je tätig gewordenen Unternehmer in der österreichischen Geschichte das Familienhotel und positionierte es Stück für Stück gemäß seiner Vision zu einem Boutique-Hotel mit Anspruch auf gehobene Gastronomie* um. Nach ersten Erfahrungen im journalistischen Bereich entschloss er sich – bestärkt durch Weggefährten und Freunde – ab 2011 professionell als freischaffender Publizist sowie Konsulent tätig zu werden.

André Cis ist seit 2014 Mitglied der ersten, österreichischen Kulinarik-Denkfabrik Koch.Campus.
Ein Jahr später gründete er gemeinsam mit den Südtiroler Spitzenköchen Chris Oberhammer und Markus Holzer sowie dem Osttiroler Ausnahme-Gastronomen Josef Mühlmann die international agierende Vereinigung Culinaria Tirolensis. Der Verein publizierte 2018 das Buch „Culinarium Tyrolensis – Die Küche der Dolomiten„.

André lebt mit seiner Familie in Kartitsch. Er engagiert sich seit 2004 ehrenamtlich für den Tiroler Sommelier-Verein in Osttirol und war mehr als 10 Jahre lang für die Junge Wirtschaft Österreich tätig.

2021 hat er die Ausbildung zum Certified Sake Sommelier mit Auszeichnung abgeschlossen.

* Aus familiären Gründen wurde das Hotel-Restaurant 2018 eingestellt.